Skip to content

Covid-19 protocols

The SNBSC planning office is, as of May 25, re-opened to walk-in clients. The office will be staffed from 8 a.m.-4 p.m., and sometimes later. Some of our staff continue to work from home.

Building permit/subdivision applications:

Digital submissions of development permit and building permit applications will be processed, although additional delays may result. Digital forms available here.

Contacting staff:

Our staff have left contact information OR forwarded their work phones to home (cell) phones so that they can be reached at home. Do allow a little more time to connect if calling through our office extensions, as the forwarding takes a few more rings to get through.

Connie Klein, Administrative Assistant: connie.klein@snbsc.ca
Judy Hartford, Development Officer: judy.hartford@snbsc.ca
Mike Hall, Building Inspector: michael.hall@snbsc.ca
Vern Faulkner, Building Inspector/Bylaw Enforcement: vern.faulkner@snbsc.ca
Alex Henderson, Planning Director: alex.henderson@snbsc.ca
Alexander Gopen, Planner: alexander.gopen@snbsc.ca
Tanya Herrington, Implementation Manager (recreation): tanya.herrington@snbsc.ca

Building inspections:

Mandatory inspections will still be conducted, as will inspections required as a result of an enforcement or defect arising from a previous inspection. During this time, we will make every effort to avoid contact with contractors, usually by ensuring inspections occur during breaks when workers are not actively on-site.

Prior to an inspection, we will require a declaration from the homeowner and/or general contractor that none of the individuals on-site are exhibiting Covid-19 symptoms. Additionally, for your protection, our inspectors are required to have a temperature check prior to leaving for a job-site. We are also mandating our inspectors use masks if social distancing is not possible, and engage in appropriate hand-washing or sanitizing practices.

Please contact a building inspector to arrange for required inspections. (For more, see here.) We politely remind people that we should be called for residential final inspections before the home is occupied. 

We thank you for your understanding at this time.

 -Updated Monday, June 1, 2020